The Scores – PDI Competition Round 3

We are very sorry we had to cancel our planned TPS event on 12th March while we carefully monitored government advice about how to manage public events. Thank you for your understanding as we demonstrate an abundance of caution to help keep all our TPS members safe while the Coronavirus (COVID-19) spreads. We’ll issue further updates about future meetings as soon as possible; watch this space…

There is some good news though! Our judge, Simon Van Orden, very kindly agreed to judge your PDI entries remotely, awarding each image the customary score out of 10, as well as detailed comments on his reflections. We are hugely grateful to Simon for helping out so generously.

So that means we have some scores… and some winners… and some 2019-2020 champions to announce!

You can find the scores awarded by the judge for each image on our results page.

Here are the judge’s favourite Club Class images:

Here are the judge’s favourite Advanced Class images:

Congratulations to everyone whose images appear above. This means you scored 9 points or more, yay! Here’s a virtual round of applause, just for you, please join in:

(random people clapping yesterday)

Good clapping everyone! Now please wash your hands for longer than the applause lasted.

Like me, you’re probably wondering why your image got the score it did, so please download the document below to read the judge’s comments:

With the Round Three scores in, we are now delighted to announce the final standings in our 2019-2020 PDI Competitions.


Congratulations to our Club Class winner Gary Coomber with a spectacular 38.0 points and also to our runner up Peter Beard with 37.5. You both produced some stunning images in this year’s competitions and deserve your well-earned promotion into the Advanced Class for next season – bravo!


Congratulations go to our joint winners Clare Pickett LRPS and Marie-Ange Bouchard ARPS CPAGB. Phenomenal scores and beautiful photography. We’re proud to have such talented photographers in our club.

You can see the full league tables on our results page.

(and now, in true virtual style, please be brave and leave a comment below for our winners!)

The PDI competition is now concluded for 2019-20 but it will be back again in 2020-21, so get out now and start taking more lovely photos. And if you find yourself in self-isolation over the coming weeks, why not challenge yourself to take a few interesting, unexpected photos from around your home? Every spare moment is an opportunity to practise your love of photography.

More news will follow on the plans for future TPS meetings. For now, stay safe and happy,… and please wash your hands!

Help TPS in the Surrey Advertiser Rosebowl Challenge 2020

Here’s a short notice opportunity for TPS members to have a photo featured in our entry into the Surrey Advertiser Rosebowl Challenge. But hurry, entries must be received by Sunday 9th February!

We’re putting together a five image (PDI) panel on the theme of ‘Monochrome Street Photography’. Please check through your photography back catalogue and pick out your favourite black & white (not tinted) images that match the theme and submit your images via the usual PhotoEntry route.

Normal image size rules apply, but please do not include borders around your images.

Clare and Carole will then be tasked with creating a nice, consistent panel of images, each from a different photographer, to represent TPS in the competition which will be judged in Woking on 10th March.

Here’s the deep link to submit your images (PhotoEntry login required):

Thanks and good luck!

PS Check out the previous years’ winners on the Woking Photographic Society page.

Competition Report – Mono Prints Round 2

Caffe Nero by Seb Springbett
Copyright Seb Springbett

This week we welcomed photography judge Eddie Lord to TPS to review round 2 of our members’ monochrome prints.

The full results are now available on the usual pages (round 2 scores and overall standings). Once again, the quality of your printed images was impressive and it’s great to see so many new members taking part as the competition progresses.

The scores are one thing, but the images are quite another! Here’s a selection of the judge’s favourite images – well done to everyone for taking part. We hope you find some inspiration for your next photo outing.



Next week (6th Feb) we’ve a treat for our TPS members with guest speaker and stand-up comedian Steve Best talking about his twenty years of behind-the-scenes experiences as photographer and funny man on the comedy circuit. Should be fun! And don’t forget – we’ll be in the Baptist Church Hall!

Check out our TPS events programme for details of the many goodies we have coming up later this year.

Natural History Competition

Once again, we have been blown away by the quality (and volume!) of images submitting into our TPS Natural History Competition!

Our judge, Steve Kingswell ARPS AFIAP, selected his favourite images and congratulations go out to:

PRINTS WINNER: Geoff Spriegel:


PDI WINNER: Geoff Spriegel:

PDI RUNNER-UP: Peter Veale:

All photo entries that scored 9 points or higher are now available to view in the shiny new Photo Galleries section of our website. Check them out, as well as the some of the highest scoring images from previous years.

And, the full scores are also now available from the results page.

Well done to everyone who took part. Your photos are truly inspiring!

TPS Competition Results – Colour Prints Round 1

TPS Competition Results – Colour Prints Round 1

Well done to everyone who took part in Round 1 of our 2019-20 TPS Colour Prints Competition last night. We received so many entries we had to limit Advanced Class members to just one print each so we were still able to review all of our Club Class prints. Yes, all 49 of them!

There were some superb prints on display, with the favourites being selected by our guest judge, Sheena Rogers.

As always I’ve shared all the images that were awarded 9 or more marks in the galleries below, but a special well done is first due to our 10-point superstars:

Clever clogs 10-point superstars!
Jan Yardley, Malcolm Field, Dominic Murtagh, Jeff Vianna, Marie-Ange Bouchard, John Nathan, and Clare Pickett

The full scoresheet is available here.



Well done to everyone! We hope you picked up some tips and ideas for your next competition entries.

Next week we’ll be welcoming some very photogenic reptiles for a special TPS photoshoot. Full details are in our Events Programme. So, dust off your camera, charge up your batteries and look forward to creating some animal magic!